Ok

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies. Ces derniers assurent le bon fonctionnement de nos services. En savoir plus.

19/03/2020

The Violet Burning - "The Violet Burning" (1996)

=--=Publié dans la Catégorie "Music..."=--=

 

Peut-on être un groupe de Rock à tendance Punk-Post Grunge et chanter Dieu ? Le groupe américain The Violet Burning semble en être la preuve...

La formation est essentiellement le projet du guitariste-chanteur et auteur-compositeur Michael J. Pritzl, autour duquel évoluent différents musiciens en fonction des albums et des tournées.

J’ai eu la chance de voir le groupe, dans sa formule d’alors, en concert en 1996 au Plan de Ris Orangis, en première partie de Stevie Salas. Ce fut une magnifique découverte. Aussitôt après leur prestation j’achetais cet album qui demeure un de mes albums préférés de ces 30 dernières années.

Ce disque (aujourd’hui difficilement trouvable) sorti en 1996 est une merveille qui à lui seul écrase toute la production de U2 des 20 dernières années. Si vous pouvez vous le procurer d’une façon ou d’une autre, n’hésitez pas.

En voici une écoute intégrale avec les paroles en anglais qui vont avec.

 

 

Crush
Should I let you near me?
Did you take what's mine?
Maybe I should show you
Why I'm lying here
And leave you all behind
I think I caught this feeling
Standing by the light of the world
Maybe I was dreaming
Like I told you before,
I wanted to love you
Maybe I never understood
Maybe I'm just not pure
You tell me how you love me
Was that a lie?
I'm not sure
Here am I
Here am I
Standing by the river
Moving by the places that haunt me
Pure am I
We are find where we want to go
We are trying to regain control
Let the streams of light pour down on me
Let the love that heals me set me free
Come on, crush me
Let it crush me
Crush me, you crush me baby
Crush me
I wanted to love you
I wanted to trust you
I just wanted to...
Bring it on now
Bring it on now
Fill my soul, it leaks
Fill my soul, it leaks
Could you save me now?
I didn't think I would fall so far down
When you crushed me
With a kiss you embrace me
With your lips you betray me
And you crush me, now
You crush me

------------------------------------

Arabic Tremolo Radio

This could last all day
It's heaven when you hold me
Maybe fall like rain all around me
Heaven when you hold me
I am alive
I'm not asking (Lay me down)
You're not saying
(In your arms)
I'm not asking for much
(Let me stay)
To believe in
(In your arms)
You're not leaving
I'm not staying
This could last all day
You know that I am
Painted when you touch me
Heaven when you hold me
Open my eyes
Inside, I'm a lot like you
I'm not asking
(Lay me down)
You're not saying
(In your arms)
I'm not asking for much
(Next to your beautiful skin)
To believe in
(I can feel it)
You're not leaving
(In your arms)
Wish I was staying
Close my eyes, so I can see
Your love, the light that shines on
Oh, how you take my breath away
When you fall like rain and surround me
Baby, don't let go
Spirit, don't let go
Let me stay in your arms
I'm not asking for much
But to lay me down
Why don't you set me down
Let me hide in your arms
Let me breathe, close my eyes
Let me see, pour your love on me
Oh, how you take my breath away

------------------------------------

Blind

Got some time?
Have you got feelings?
Will you sell some, if I give you this stone?
I can't help it, I've nothing left to give.
See the light pour through me
Searching, but there's nothing at all
See the light when we both collide
And we fall
And I'm blind
What went wrong?
How come I stayed here?
Far away from the light in your eye
I couldn't help it, I couldn't find your love
I can see your light pour through me
Looking for the love in it all
I see the light when we both collide
And we fall
And I'm blind
It's down to me
But I couldn't barely figure it out
Why did I leave you
So far behind?
I came here
Looking for your love
Reaching for your love, in the dark
But you were fading
And I'm blind
Stone blind
And I can't reach you

------------------------------------

Fever

Never know how much I love you.
Never know how much I care.
When you put your arms around me,
I get a fever that's so hard to bear.
You give me fever when you kiss me.
Fever when you hold me tight.
Fever in the morning.
Fever all through the night.
Sun lights up the daytime,
And moon lights up the night.
I light up when you call my name,
And you know I'm gonna treat you right.
You give me fever when you kiss me.
Fever when you hold me tight.
Fever in the morning,
And fever all through the night.
Everybody's got the fever.
That is something you all know.
Fever isn't such a new thing.
Fever started long ago.
Romeo loved Juliet.
Juliet, she felt the same.
When he put his arms around her,
He said, "Julie, baby, you're my flame.
Thou giveth fever when we kisseth.
Fever with thy flaming youth.
Fever, I'm afire.
Fever, yeah, I burn, forsooth."
Cap'n Smith and Pocahontas
Had a very mad affair.
When her daddy tried to kill him,
She said, "Daddy, oh, don't you dare.
He gives me fever with his kisses.
Fever when he holds me tight.
Fever, I'm his missus,
So Daddy, won't you treat him right."
Now you've listened to my story,
Here's the point that I have made:
Chicks were born to give you fever,
Be it Fahrenheit or Centigrade.
They give you fever when you kiss them.
Fever if you live and learn.
Fever 'til you sizzle.
What a lovely way to burn.
What a lovely way to burn.
What a lovely way to burn.
What a lovely way to burn.

------------------------------------

The sun and the sky

If I was a river, deep
I would surely run
From shore to your shore
Maybe I could sweep you off your feet
Maybe I could show you some things
That we both could ignore
Do it, do it again
Say you'll be near me
Like the sun and the sky
If I could be superman
I would only wind up dead in the end
But maybe we could fly away
To the sea with each other
Maybe our worlds would collide
I see you away in the distance
Your brightness is turning me blue
Turning me blue
So, you be the sun
I'll be the sky
Hang on to me
Just give me your light

------------------------------------

Underwater

Can I hold you under with me?
Lately, it's a little bit hard
So breathe in deep
Let's float here for a while
Is it healing me or drowning me?
The more I live, the less I know
When we walked on water
We were perfect
Decided to go
Have I gone too far?
Lately, it's more than just a little bit hard
Cause I'm caught underwater breathing
Breathing is hard
Have I gone too far?
It's all I know
More than just a little bit hard
Caught in the undertow, reaching
It's pulling me down
Have I gone too far?
Can you reach me?
I've gone too far

Just a little bit helpless
Just a little bit helpless

------------------------------------

Low

I could die here tonight
Your beautiful words in my soul
I could die here tonight
And you wouldn't even notice
You wouldn't even protest
We could lie here together
Pulling the stars from the sky
Maybe things will get better
Maybe not, I don't know why
Do you feel scared like I do?
Do you feel lower than angels?
Do you feel scared like I do?
Do you feel love so high?
Bring the stars from the mountains
How far down can we go?
By the floors of the ocean
Are we falling like stones?
Am I your sinking star?
Do you feel scared like I do?
Do you feel lower than angels?
I am reaching high
Do you feel... oh... so high?
I feel your fire
I feel it
Breathe on me
Come on, breathe
Breathe on me, river that fills my soul
I could die here tonight
Your beautiful words in my soul
Maybe things will get better
Maybe I am the liar
Maybe I am the liar
Baby, I am the liar
But, I feel your fire
Near my soul
Near my heart
I feel it, breathe on me
Come on, breathe
Come on, breathe on me
Do you feel scared?
Do you feel lower?
Do you feel scared like I do?
It's your love that keeps me here
It's my heart that's caving in
You are gone and I am broken
Do you feel love so high?
Love, so high
I feel high
Near the ocean floor
Near the floors of the ocean
How far down can we go?

------------------------------------

Silver

I realize something is missing
I climb to the top of it all
I keep crashing down, crashing down
You say to me,
"Don't cry, I now you'll make it."
I'm in love with you
We were the lovers with silver wings
Flying too high
Melting in the rays of the sun
You say to me
"Don't cry, I know you'll make it."
I'm in love with you,
Starlight
I'm in love with you
We were the lovers in silver,
We were the lovers in silver
Do you think you'll ever come down?
Starlight
Do you think you'll ever come down?
And find me now
Reach me now
Who's gonna find me now?
I got lost
Somehow
"Don't cry, don't cry."
We were the lovers in silver
We were the lovers with silver wings
Wings to fly
Wings that don't fly, anymore

------------------------------------

Goldmine

Take me
To the other side
And show me
All those things inside
By the light of the moon
Hold my shaking hand
But close to me
I do not understand
Being like angels
Lined up in my head
And wanting to sit inside your heart
Wanting to sit inside your heart
Goldmine
I see that you are bright
Just don't say
That it's not worth a fight
Will I ever shine
In your eyes?
Don't leave me
Oh, don't hide tonight
I don't really hate you
I hate what I do
I'm wanting to sit inside your heart
Wanting to sit inside your heart
Words that you say, I could never forget you
Don't turn away, please, just let me inside you
No matter what words that you say
I could never forget you
Under your skin I'll go
I will always love you
Into your eyes I'll go
I will always
If I could be where you are
Love me, you move me
Crush me, bend me, please don't break me
Goldmine, goldmine
If I could be where you are
If I could find what you hide
You leave me breathless
Breathless, behind your eyes
Don't hide your eyes
You leave me
Dazzled, breathless
Behind your eyes
Under your skin

------------------------------------

Waiting

The outside world's incontinent
The wall's no longer our fence
Your skin crawls with it, what's eating you?
Flawless for our little one
Do-overs and re-runs
As you sacrifice the air you breathe
All those things life put you through
Lame excuses shouldn't do
It hasn't been enough for you, I'm waiting
Panic is our passing flu
A holiday without a view
It's not good enough for you, I'm waiting
Find ourself inside again
The outside world seems most distant
Tomorrow the sun will rise again and you will smile
And you will find yourself
And you will find yourself
And you will find yourself again
All those things life put you through
Virtue nearly buried you
Two years without a mirror, she's fading
Forgetting her mental health
Losing pieces of herself
Lost in a nursery, he's waiting on the shelf
For her to find herself
For her to find herself
For her to find herself again
(The outside world is closing in
The outside world is closing in
The outside world is, is closing in)

------------------------------------

Eleven

Could you fill my soul?
I just don't have what it takes
Do you?

------------------------------------

Feel

Here, waiting for the sun
Will she ever shine on us again?
Oh, inside I feel so cold
Feel what's inside of me
One last breath before we go
One last kiss upon my soul
Oh, I guess it's time to rise
Feel what's inside of me
I cannot take these lies
Heal what's inside of me
Even now, I feel like I could crumble
Here and now I feel like I could crumble
Don't let me die here, naked
Don't let me die here
Knowing these lies
Come a little bit closer now
Put your hands on my shoulders
A little bit closer now
Feel the tears run down my swollen cheeks
Feel, feel
Can I see the light?
Can I see the light?
I can't see the light
Can I see the light?

00:06 Publié dans Music... | Lien permanent | Commentaires (0) | |  del.icio.us | | Digg! Digg |  Facebook

Les commentaires sont fermés.