Ok

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies. Ces derniers assurent le bon fonctionnement de nos services. En savoir plus.

20/05/2008

Irish Blood, English heart

=--=Publié dans la Catégorie "Music..."=--=

J'ai déjà eu l'occasion de parler de cette superbe chanson Ici, dans "In Memoriam... Fred Chichin et digressions diverses..." Et bien j'ai trouvé cette excellente version, interprétée en condition LIVE, pour une émission de télévision quelconque. Je vous la balance ici en ligne afin de voir le dandy Morrissey en action nonchalante. Et le texte qui va avec... :

"Irish blood, English heart, this I'm made of
There is no-one on earth I'm afraid of
And no regime can buy or sell me

I've been dreaming of a time when
To be English is not to be baneful
To be standing by the flag not feeling
Shameful, racist or partial

Irish blood, English heart, this I'm made of
There is no-one on earth I'm afraid of
And I will die with both my hands untied

I've been dreaming of a time when
The English are sick to death of Labour
And Tories, and spit upon the name of Oliver Cromwell
And denounce this royal line that still salute him
And will salute him forever"




""Also, with the issue of immigration, it's very difficult because, although I don't have anything against people from other countries, the higher the influx into England the more the British identity disappears. So the price is enormous. If you travel to Germany, it's still absolutely Germany. If you travel to Sweden, it still has a Swedish identity. But travel to England and you have no idea where you are. It matters because the British identity is very attractive. I grew up into it, and I find it quaint and very amusing. But England is a memory now. Other countries have held on to their basic identity, yet it seems to me that England was thrown away. (...)The change in England is so rapid compared to the change in any other country. If you walk through Knightsbridge on any bland day of the week you won't hear an English accent. You'll hear every accent under the sun apart from the British accent. (...)My favourite actor is an Israeli, Lior Ashkenazi, and my favourite singer was born in Iraq and now lives in Egypt. So I'm not a part of Little Britain. And by that, I don't mean the show, obviously. The gates are flooded. And anybody can have access to England and join in. Millions of people leave the country every year because they don't recognise the place, so I'm not saying anything unusual. If you travelled to Croatia tomorrow for instance, and walked around Zagreb hearing nothing but Dublin accents, you'd find it shocking. Whatever England is now, it's not what it was and it's lamentable that we've lost so much." Morrissey



D'autres versions...



12:45 Publié dans Music... | Lien permanent | Commentaires (3) | |  del.icio.us | | Digg! Digg |  Facebook

Commentaires

Propos très sensés. J'espère qu'il a gagné contre le NME qu'il a attaqué, ou qu'il va gagner. Vous avez des nouvelles de cette affaire?

Écrit par : Charles | 22/05/2008

Aucune idée, Charles, je n'ai pas suivi l'affaire en question.

Écrit par : Nebo | 23/05/2008

Morrissey c'est la classe totale. Dans sa musique comme dans ses propos sur l'invasion de la Grande Bretagne par des sous développés qui veulent faire leur loi par et pour la haine.

Écrit par : Lou | 02/06/2008

Les commentaires sont fermés.